Blues Music Awards, Goats, Tour dates, Wyoming, IBA Voting!

Hey Everybody!

I had such a great time at the Blues Music Awards in Memphis! It’s always great seeing old friends and meeting new ones. And this year I had the honor of presenting at the awards show, with the talented Eden Brent. There we were, two southern women, talking about the nominees, and handing out some awards. I just hope everyone understood our southern talkin’!
EG and Eden present - Marilyn Stringer

(photo by Marilyn Stringer)

Our new Blues Foundation President, Barbara Newman, had called me weeks earlier to see if I could bring one of my goats to the show. I was afraid it would try to eat everything on stage, and fertilize it too, so I brought a stuffed goat instead. And now, Memphis Billy, my little stuffed goat is famous! Here he is after a long day in Memphis, ready for bed.

IMG_4846

Not long before heading to Memphis I found out that a fantastic artist, Shaun Murphy, had just released a new album with two of my songs on it. She’s what I call “a singer’s singer!” I had the chance to spend a little time with her in Memphis. Be sure and check out her CD, “It Won’t Stop Raining”.

Shaun Murphy Raining cd cover
I’ve gotten a lot of nominations through the years, and every time I’m honored just to be considered. This is my first Independent Blues Awards nomination, for Best Female Artist. You can VOTE, and tell all your friends. But do it quick! Voting ends June 1st. http://www.makingascene.org/vote-now-independent-blues-awards

Sippie and her crew campaigning for votes
If you’re in the tri-cities area, up near Knoxville next week, y’all come see me at the Renaissance Arts Center in Kingsport, TN. I’ll be sharing the stage with Becky Hobbs and Lucy Billings, doing a “songwriters in the round” show. It’s gonna be a lot of fun, performing our original songs, and telling how they were born. Some tickets are still available. You can read all about Lucy and Becky, and get ticket info at http://www.bluesouthtalent.com/latest-news.EG Kight, Becky Hobbs, Lucy Billings Kingsport 052616

I have a show coming up at the Allman Brothers Big House in Macon, GA in June. Michael “Buffalo” Smith and a couple other writers and I will be doing some original songs. And I’ve got some private parties, and house concerts coming up, too. I love performing at house concerts. I’ll be at several Ohio venues in June, and my Blue South Band and I have shows coming up at Bradfordville Blues Club in Tallahassee and Capitol Oyster Bar in Montgomery. Then in August I’ll be making a solo appearance at the Cincy Blues Festival opening for a Saffire reunion.

Later in August I’m going to be doing something I’ve never done – flying to Jackson Hole, Wyoming to take pictures! This has been on my “bucket list” for a long time I’m so excited about this trip and look forward to giving my camera a work out!

Be sure and keep an eye on my Tour Dates page because it changes all the time.

I hope to see you on the road somewhere. Until then, keep a song in your heart!

EG

.

.

.

.

.

.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About EGKight

I've made music most of my life, and I enjoy every aspect of it. I'm a roots singer, songwriter, entertainer, publisher, and producer. My musical style has been called “country-flavored southern-fried blues.” I've headlined at clubs, theaters and festivals across America and in Europe. And my songs have been recorded by artists across the genres. Even my mentor, Koko Taylor, recorded a couple of my songs, and they landed on her last two Grammy nominated albums. And I placed five songs in a movie that's coming out in 2017.

Leave a Reply

