I’ve been everywhere, man! I’ve been everywhere!

Hello Everybody!

Have I been busy lately! I’ve been traveling around the country, having a great time doing what I love – writing and playing music!

My band and I were in Montgomery, Alabama on Sunday at the Capitol Oyster Bar. It’s been quite a while since we were there and we enjoyed getting to see our friends and fans in the area. And Memphis Billy was along for the ride.

EG and Memphis Billy Capitol Oyster Bar(Photo by Jimmy Jacobs)

A few months ago I performed with an old friend Becky Hobbs and a new friend, Lucy Billings, at the Renaissance Theatre in Kingsport, Tennessee. We played an “in the round” songwriters night. It’s always inspiring to hear other writers songs. An “in the round” concert is when artists take turns performing their songs. I’ve always enjoyed this type of concert and I think it’s interesting for the audience to find out the thought process behind the songs. It lets them know where your ideas come from, and how a song develops.

Lucy, EG, Becky - Kingsport(LtoR: Lucy Billings, me, Becky Hobbs)

And at the end of July, I helped launch the Explore Georgia Songwriter Series at the Carnegie Library in my hometown of Dublin, Georgia! This was the first in a series of events, and I was honored to be part of the first one. Joining me was Levi Lowrey and Greg Hester. These two guys are successful writers, and I really enjoyed hearing their music, and getting to know them a little bit. Levi ended up jammin’ with me on the fiddle and we had a ball! I hope we can all work together again!

Greg, EG, Levi - Explore GA rsz(LtoR: Greg Hester, me, Levi Lowrey)

The night before that I was in Sheffield, Alabama at George’s, a beautiful venue with great sound. Thanks to Debbie Dixon and all those who came out to get their fill of the blues!

And while we’re talking about songwriters, I spend some time in Nashville again, writing with Johnny Neel and Doug Jones, and we came up with some keepers! Johnny and I, and Joanna Cotten wrote a song that’s on Shaun Murphy‘s new album. I was honored to have another song on her album, too. I hope by now you’ve heard her CD. It’s a real true blues release and Shaun really belts it out. Check it out when you can!

Shaun Murphy Raining cd cover

Recenty I also performed in another songwriters round at the Allman Brother’s Big House in Macon, Georgia with Sonny Moorman and Russell Gulley. I’d heard about them for a long time, and really enjoyed being with them. Thanks to Michael “Buffalo” Smith for letting me be a part of it.

EG, Toney Gulley, Sonny Moorman by Rick Cash(LtoR: Toney Gulley, Sonny Moorman, and me. Photo by Rick Cash.)

In mid-July I did a mini-tour in Ohio and Indiana. I performed again at one of my fave places, the Hey Hey Club in Columbus, then I did a house concert in Westerville, Ohio at the Hoover House Concert series. It was outdoors, on a lovely night, and Nancy and Roy were precious hosts. It was a magical night!

EG on stage Hoover House 071616

The next night I helped kick off the new Indy Blues Society at an event at Wolfie’s in Noblesville, Indiana. It’s a good thing to see folks have such a passion for this great music and who are willing to start a society to help keep the blues going. Marcia and Mark Adams are dedicated to growing this blues society, and I know they will. So many good things can come from being associated with the Blues Foundation. I’m just proud to be a part of it.

EG on stage Indy Blues rsz
I’m getting ready to head up to Ohio for the Cincy Blues Festival, and I’m really looking forward to seeing a lot of friends up there. Lots of my friends are performing on the same stage! After my set, Gaye Adegbalola will do a solo set, then Andra Faye and Scott Ballentine do a set. Then Gaye will join Andra for a “Saffire Reunion” with Cheryl Renee sitting in. This will be their first reunion since Saffire – the Uppity Blues Women retired. And even though Ann Rabson won’t be there physically, I know she’ll be there in spirit. I love performing, and I love sitting back watching my friends perform, too. I can’t wait!

Blues Fest logo 2015_6_4

After the festival, I’ll be flying to Wyoming to have a whole week of learning more about my camera, taking photos, taking in the fresh air, and just being blessed by the beautiful surroundings. This trip has been on my “bucket list” for a long time. Hopefully I’ll come back with some new exciting photos.

In the next couple of months I’ll be in Chattanooga, Pennsylvania, Georgia, Florida, Mississippi, and Nashville.  When I’m home in between shows, I’m working on a new project that I hope will be ready in the next few months. I’ll let you know when it’s ready to show everybody.

Keep an eye on my schedule and I’ll see you somewhere along the way! Until then, keep a song in your heart!

EG

.

.

.

.

.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About EGKight

I've made music most of my life, and I enjoy every aspect of it. I'm a roots singer, songwriter, entertainer, publisher, and producer. My musical style has been called “country-flavored southern-fried blues.” I've headlined at clubs, theaters and festivals across America and in Europe. And my songs have been recorded by artists across the genres. Even my mentor, Koko Taylor, recorded a couple of my songs, and they landed on her last two Grammy nominated albums. And I placed five songs in a movie that's coming out in 2017.

One response to “I’ve been everywhere, man! I’ve been everywhere!”

  1. Linda Linder says :

    I would love to see you in person. I love your music! Do you ever get to CO or CA?

Leave a Reply

