Summer NAMM in Nashville!

I had a blast at Summer NAMM last week, and enjoyed visiting with some friends that I ran into.

For those who don’t know, NAMM is the National Association of Music Merchants, and a couple of times a year they have a convention, where the merchants and manufacturers exhibit their goods. And boy are they good!!

For a musician, it’s like being a kid in a candy store. There are aisles and aisles of instruments and gear, and it’s hard to know what to look at next! And there doesn’t seem to be enough time to see it all!

I’ve been to NAMM several times before, but this time was really special, because my guitar tech, Mark Graham, and his wife Latralle got to join me.
Mark looks after my guitars and equipment, and it was a proud moment when I got to introduce him to VP, Tim O’Brien and Kurt Listug, the CEO of Taylor Guitars.
I’ve played Taylor guitars for a long time, and everyone at Taylor has been so good to me through the years. So this was a special time, just chatting with the guys who keep things going at the company.
And I want to send a big “Thanks” out to Robin Straudt, who takes care of so many details for me.

I got to play a lot of the guitars Taylor had at the show. Here’s a snippet of me playing the Taylor 916ce. It sounded SO good, and I had a ball with it!


I also got to meet Daniel Cooper, the inventor and founder of Cooperstands. I’ve used Cooperstands for several years now, and I have one in every guitar case. They’re sturdy, and compact, and I just love ’em!   https://www.cooperstand.com/
.

It was interesting, too, seeing all the music industry people there. One of the first artists I ran into was Rory Feek. You may know him from the duo Rory + Joey. And you may know the story of him and his wife, Joey, and their daughter, Indiana. If you don’t, you should. It’s a love story for the ages, and it’ll break your heart, and yet leave you hopeful. http://www.thislifeilive.com/to-joey-with-love/

One of the best parts of the three days I spent in Nashville was running into Charles “Chip” Esten!

In case you don’t watch the CMT show “Nashville,” he plays Deacon Claybourne on the show. He’s as good a singer as he is an actor, and I was excited to get to chat with him for a minute…
You can read all about him here. https://www.charlesesten.com/

I’m back home now, and while it was fun to have a few days off, I’ve got to get back to work. We’ve got band rehearsals, and I’m working on some new songs. And I’ve got some shows coming up at Bradfordville Blues Club, the Crimson Moon, and several private events. Then my band and I are off to Canada for the Edmonton Blues Festival!

Y’all keep an eye on my schedule, ’cause we keep adding dates. I’ll be lookin’ for you out there on the road!
http://www.EGKightMusic.com/tour-dates

.

.

.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About EGKight

I've made music most of my life, and I enjoy every aspect of it. I'm a roots singer, songwriter, entertainer, publisher, and producer. My musical style has been called “country-flavored southern-fried blues.” I've headlined at clubs, theaters and festivals across America and in Europe. And my songs have been recorded by artists across the genres. Even my mentor, Koko Taylor, recorded a couple of my songs, and they landed on her last two Grammy nominated albums. And I placed five songs in a movie that's coming out in 2017.

One response to “Summer NAMM in Nashville!”

  1. Ellen Altamore says :

    Guitars and “Deacon.” I can’t imagine anything better. Well, maybe a nice big chocolate chip cookie thrown in for good measure.

Leave a Reply

