I’ve been on the road! Festivals, concert series, apple orchard, yacht club, songwriters night, and everything in between!

I’ve been a lot of places since my last blog update, and I want to tell you all about it!

After playing at a couple of private parties, I performed at a couple of festivals, a summer concert series, some of my favorite spots in Ohio, a coffee house and an apple orchard in Indiana, a yacht club and a pub in east Tennessee, a private room in a billiards club in Chattanooga, and a songwriters night in Georgia.

Havin’ fun at the apple orchard!

I was excited to head up to Edmonton, Alberta, Canada with my band for the Edmonton Blues Festival. It’s been many years since I was up that far north, and the welcome we received warmed our hearts!

And just last week while I was on the road, I read an email that moved me to tears. The Edmonton festival organizer, Cam Hayden, wrote:
“EG Kight brought the house down and and brought a tear to my eye with her heartfelt, deeply moving, personal songs, delivered in a truly touching manner. Her sweet soul shone through the songs that captured the audience and took us all to a higher plane.”

This is why I continue to do what I do, taking my music out to the people, hoping to touch their hearts, and make a difference. I’m so grateful to be living my dream

Some of you were at a recent show I did in LaGrange, Georgia. ExploreGeorgia.org hosts a series of songwriters events, promoting the state as a destination for live music and music heritage. And I was invited to join Pat Alger and Tony Arata for this show. But Tony had to have surgery, and wasn’t able to make it. I’m sending love and prayers out to him for a speedy recovery.

LaGrange is Pat’s hometown, and it was good to see the Mayor proclaim it “Pat Alger Day.” Another great writer, Johnny Bulford, who wrote Lee Brice‘s #1 hitA Woman Like You, joined us, filling in for Tony. I was in great company, and we had a ball!

(Me, Pat Alger, Johnny Bulford)

You may know Pat as the writer of “Unanswered Prayers” and “The Thunder Rolls,” which were hits for Garth Brooks. He’s also had songs recorded by many other artists, and I love his style. But what surprised me, and the audience, I think, was when I threw it on him and asked him to join me on a blues song. He picked that guitar and I loved every minute of it! Thanks to Lisa Love and Jody Jackson for booking me on the same stage as these guys. It was an amazing night!

Here’s a video from that night, of Pat sharing the story of how he came to write one of my all-time favorite songs – “Unanswered Prayers.”

As you know, many artists constantly reinvent themselves. I’m trying something new this coming weekend, at Perk Avenue in Madison, Georgia. I’ve got an acoustic trio, and I can’t wait for y’all to hear us! My lead guitar player, Ken Wynn, and my drummer, Gary Porter, will join me to make some acoustic music for you. We’d love to see all y’all there! Details are on my Tour Dates page.

Then I’m headed back up to Dahlonega to The Crimson Moon Cafe for a show on one of my favorite stages. I love being in the north Georgia mountains, and I love this cafe. That’s why I keep going back. If you’re in the area, you’ll want to come on out and see how the town gets all dressed up for the holidays!

And I’ve got some Christmas parties in the works, too. If you’d like some Songbird music at your Christmas party, just let us know. I bet we could work something out.

We’re working on a lot of dates for next year, and I’ll be headed to some new areas. Y’all keep an eye on my schedule and we’ll post the dates as they are confirmed.

I’m looking forward to the holidays, and I hope you get to spend quality time with the ones you love.

Happy Thanksgiving, Merry Christmas, and Keep a song in your heart!

EG
.

.

.

.

.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About EGKight

I've made music most of my life, and I enjoy every aspect of it. I'm a roots singer, songwriter, entertainer, publisher, and producer. My musical style has been called “country-flavored southern-fried blues.” I've headlined at clubs, theaters and festivals across America and in Europe. And my songs have been recorded by artists across the genres. Even my mentor, Koko Taylor, recorded a couple of my songs, and they landed on her last two Grammy nominated albums. And I placed five songs in a movie that's coming out in 2017.

Leave a Reply

